The goal of our Society for Conservation Biology (SCB) Europe Section Blog is to share stories and relevant information about activities going on within our section and more broadly in the conservation community. Stories and articles shared on our blog should not be taken as an official position or statement of SCB or SCB Europe Section. Thank you for reading!

Friday, 26 October 2012

SCB 2012 Awards

We are in the process selecting nominees for the Society of Conservation Biology Annual Awards. The society gives up to seven awards each year these are:

The Edward T. LaRoe III Memorial Award.

This award is given annually to an individual who has been a leader in translating principles of conservation biology into real-world conservation. Preference is given to individuals who have spent at least part of their career in public service.

Distinguished Service Awards.

The Society for Conservation Biology presents up to five awards for distinguished service in the field of conservation biology to outstanding individuals, groups, or institutions whose work has furthered the mission of SCB.

Early Career Conservationist Awards

Early Career Conservationist Awards for achievement by professionals early in their careers (no more than 10 years since leaving school). SCB does not apply an age criteria in order to enable eligibility for individuals who might have come to conservation as a second career.


The Awards Committee is soliciting nominations from SCB members for these awards, which will be presented at SCB's biennial International Congress for Conservation Biology.

To nominate an individual or institution for an award, a nomination packet (including a minimum of two supporting letters) must be received by 1 December of the year before (even years) the award year (odd years).

As members of the Europe Section we should focus on members related to Europe that could merit any of these awards. If you have candidates please contact me (Javier Bustamante) or directly Rodrigo Medellín, the chairman of the AwardsCommitee.

The nomination form (available in Word or PDF)
Dr Javier Bustamante

No comments: